Marriage first aid

Online support for your marriage

Free Tell A Friend from Bravenet

Home > Forums
2-in-2-1 Discussion Forums  
Old 25th October 2006, 11:55 AM   #1
SueDev

Please advise...

Can anyone give their opinion/help on an experience I had many many years ago that I thought I’d moved on from but for some reason has started to bother me and I can’t explain why.
Here goes.
In my late teens I had a relationship with a guy through college which was quite abusive – both physically and mentally - but for some reason I stuck with it even though I was very unhappy and quite insecure. At the same time, my parents were going through a very traumatic divorce. My father had an affair and for a few years both he and his mistress were ‘very unkind’ to my mother and I saw my father beat my mother many times. I, naturally, supported my mother but found it very distressing. I was in the middle of my degree so it was tough trying to cope. She relied on me totally. Eventually, I graduated, got a good job and went back home to live with my mum and looked after her. My grandmother died after suffering a horrible death from cancer and my father left us for good the same day. Things were bad but we got through and I joined back at my local squash club and started to go out with my old friends again who were all married but came out now and again and life began to get better. My boyfriend was very resentful of this as he was losing his grip and control over me. I got a bit stronger and happier in myself and gradually started to wean myself away from this man – he used to threaten me if I were to leave him so I lived in fear a little.
I was early- mid 20’s – very naïve and innocent. I enjoyed the light hearted company of everyone at the club. There were lots of young people. I befriended a young boy that I played regularly and his mum and dad (that I admired as a father figure) - who knew my mother- and they took me under their wing and I loved their family unit.