Marriage first aid

Online support for your marriage

Free Tell A Friend from Bravenet

Home > Forums
2-in-2-1 Discussion Forums  
Old 18th August 2006, 09:54 PM   #1
PMDF

Ring help

I've seen some gorgeous rings about, but know very little on Engagement rings.
Is a platinum plated ring still a good engagement ring?
I'm not good at this whole "the ring must be of these materials only" thing.

Can Engagement rings have a "lab created ruby, diamond " or whatever stone, or does it have to be pure? Money is quite tight, and I don't want to put my Fiance out of house and home just to buy something which will most likely take a bashing over the years.
PMDF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 1st September 2006, 03:57 PM   #2
markus

Re: Ring help

Dont spend too much .. you might end up wanting to throw it in the bin one day
Old 20th October 2007, 08:22 PM   #3
nik1h

Thumbs down Re: Ring help

Quote:
Originally Posted by markus View Post
Dont spend too much .. you might end up wanting to throw it in the bin one day
Right on the money Markus. Pretty good odds I'd say. Save your money dont do it
Old 24th October 2007, 04:47 PM   #4
1aokgal

Take her shopping and have a budget figure in mind as to what you will spend. Let her select her own ring so she gets what she likes.

Do some looking in advance so you have an idea about the values and price so you don't get a shock. I saw the ring I wanted in the window one day and he bought the one I wanted to have. Yes, it was expensive but I did not select one that was outrageous. It was made by the jewele and is very different than off the shelf rings.

I would not have liked just any ring as I had my heart set on this one as soon as I saw it. Yes, the ring is platinum which is more valuable and the stones are cut wide and beautiful. Most women have a ring style in mind. Don't make a mistake ..she selects her own and will love it.
Old 8th September 2006, 03:52 AM   #5
Danielle